Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

du Pont Library: A to Z Database Guide

A to Z Resources

If trying to access these links while off-campus/outside Pomfret Network, you will be prompted to enter your Sundial credentials. If you have questions contact library director.

If you're OFF-CAMPUS/Off Pomfret Network and trying to access Infobase Databases (marked with an *), use Google Sign-in button when prompted for credentials.

African-American History Online*
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, the completely revised African-American History Online offers a fresh new way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture.

American History Online*
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.

Ancient and Medieval History Online*
Explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
"In this website, we present primary source documents from several of the time periods in American History when the river of the Black Freedom Struggle ran more powerfully, while not losing sight of the fierce, often violent opposition that Black people have faced on the road to freedom."

Bloom's Literary Reference Online*
Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)
This is an integrated search portal to all of the EBSCO databases to which we have access. When in doubt, start here and use filters to refine your results.
EBSCO Host
A list of all the EBSCO resources currently available to Pomfret School. Contact Mr. Ring if you need login assistance.

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
Provides access to education literature and resources.

The Economist Online
The Economist offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science, technology and the connections between them.

Facts on File*
A collection of reference and news service databases.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. 

iCONN
Provides access to essential library and information resources for all Connecticut students, faculty, and residents.

Infobase e-book Website*
A collection of 55 e-books covering a broad range of subject geography, culture, guidance & character education, medical & health information, science & technology,  and world history.

Issues & Controversies in American History*
Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.

Issues & Controversies*
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.

MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for popular magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps, and flags.

Modern World History Online*
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from mid-15th century to the present.

National Newspaper Core
ProQuest National Newspaper Core provides online access to the many nationally respected newspapers, including The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Montior, and The Hartford Courant.

Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are included.

Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive record of the English language.

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators and provides a highly specialized collection of education journals, including peer-reviewed titles.

Salem History Resources
Access to the full-text of Salem Press’award-winning history reference works.

Today's Science*
Bridges the gap between the science that students learn in the classroom and the discoveries pushing the boundaries of science today.

TOPICsearch
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics, including controversial opinions and viewpoints.

World Almanac Online*
Provides access to authoritative, essential statistics on hundreds of topics.

World Geography and Culture Online*
A global approach to facilitate the study of countries, places, peoples, and geography concepts and skills.

World News Digest*
Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print.